Winter Speaker Series Subscription 2020

January 25, 2020 Griswold House

Subscribe to the Series & enjoy one lecture free!

Saturdays, January 25 - February 29, 2020 at 2 pm

Since 1928, the Winter Speaker Series has been a cornerstone of the Newport Art Museum's annual programming. Each year the Winter Speaker Series Committee and Museum staff curate this series to reflect a broad spectrum of provocative visions and voices to educate, illuminate and inspire. Now, incredibly in its 92nd year, the 2020 series is sure to engage audience members from across the region with six thought provoking talks.

Each lecture will be followed by audience Q&A and continued conversation in the galleries over hot tea, coffee, and scrumptious light fare and desserts.

January 25

Darrell West, Director of Governance Studies at the Brookings Institution
Politics 2020: What to Watch for in the Upcoming Election

February 1

Julie Mallozzi, Documentary Filmmaker and multimedia installation artist
The Documentarian: Telling Global Stories

February 8

Christie Mitchell, Senior Curatorial Assistant at the Whitney Museum of American Art
Andy Warhol – From A to B and Back Again

February 15

Stacy Hollander, Former Deputy Director for Curatorial Affairs at the American Folk Art Museum
A Nation of Makers and the Invention of Folk Art

February 22

Paul Freedman, Author and Chester D. Tripp Professor of History at Yale University
The Ten Restaurants That Changed America

February 29

David Borton, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering at Brown University
Wired and Rewired: On the Cutting Edge of Neuroscience

Become a Museum member and save!

Museum Member Subscription: $75 per person
Non-member Subscription: $100 per person

Thank you to our generous sponsors:

Lee C. Bakalarski
Lockett Ford Ballard, Jr., in memory of Canon Lockett Ford Ballard & Charlotte Carr Morrinson Ballard

Johanna and Ronald Becker
Mary Jennings
Cynthia Sinclair
Kathleen Shinners
The Hope Foundation

This event is made possible by your support of the Annual Fund.

Thank you to the Winter Speaker Series Committee

Johanna Becker, Chairwoman
Bruce Amand
Cristin Searles Bilodeau, Director of Community Engagement
Eleanor Doumato
Richard Hunt
Anne DeBose Joslin
Susan Kieronski
Kathleen Shinners