Winter Speaker Series 2021: Darrell West

January 23, 2021 2:00 pm Virtual, Live on Zoom

"Politics 2021: Challenges Facing the Next Administration"

Darrell West, Vice President, Senior Fellow and Douglas Dillon Chair in Governance Studies at the Brookings Institution

The 93rd Annual Winter Speaker Series launches live on Zoom with the ever-engaging Darrell West, whose position at the Brookings Institution affords him access to the national political scene from the inside. The next administration will need to continue to manage the pandemic, respond to social unrest, and remedy broadly felt economic hardship, among other challenges. At a time when the country remains sharply divided, West will discuss these significant political and policy challenges facing the next president. What will be the priorities and prospects for the coming year? How can the president best address serious national and international issues? 

The lecture will be followed by audience Q&A with Darrell West via Zoom chat.

New to Zoom?
This is a superb reason to get acquainted! Sign up is easy and free at

NEW! Bundle your ticket with West’s book!

Divided Politics, Divided Nation, by Darrell West

The United States is caught in a partisan hyper-conflict, a polarization so intense that societal tensions have metastasized into a dangerous tribalism that seriously threatens U.S. democracy. Unless people can bridge these divisions and forge a new path forward, it will be impossible to work together, maintain a functioning democracy, and solve the country’s pressing policy problems.

$27.00  tax, shipping and autographed bookplate included, 2019, hardcover, 234 pages, Brookings Institution Press.

Subscribe to the Series & enjoy one lecture free!

Museum Member Subscription: $50 per person
Non-member Subscription: $75 per person

Purchase additional books à la carte!

Become a Member and Save!

Among many benefits, Museum members save on Winter Speaker Series tickets.

About the Speaker

Darrell M. West is the Vice President and Senior Fellow of Governance Studies at the Brookings Institution. He holds the Douglas Dillon Chair in Governance Studies.  Previously, he was the John Hazen White Professor of Political Science and Public Policy and Director of the Taubman Center for Public Policy at Brown University.  His current research focuses on American politics, technology policy, and artificial intelligence.

West is the author of 25 books including Turning Point:  Policymaking in the Era of Artificial Intelligence (Brookings, 2020; with John Allen),  Divided Politics, Divided Nation:  Hyperconflict in the Trump Era (Brookings, 2019), The Future of Work:  Robots, AI, and Automation (Brookings, 2018); Megachange: Economic Disruption, Political Upheaval, and Social Strife in the 21st Century (Brookings, 2016), Billionaires: Reflections on the Upper Crust (Brookings, 2014), Digital Schools (Brookings, 2012), The Next Wave:  Using Digital Technology to Further Social and Political Innovation (Brookings, 2011), Brain Gain:  Rethinking U.S. Immigration Policy (Brookings, 2010), Digital Medicine:  Health Care in the Internet Era (Brookings, 2009), Digital Government: Technology and Public Sector Performance, (Princeton University Press, 2005), and Air Wars: Television Advertising in Election Campaigns (Congressional Quarterly Press, 2013), among others.

He is the winner of the American Political Science Association’s Don K. Price award for best book on technology (for Digital Government) and the American Political Science Association’s Doris Graber award for best book on political communications (for Cross Talk).  His books have been translated into Chinese, Japanese, and Korean, and he has delivered lectures in numerous countries around the world.

Thank you to our generous sponsors:

Johanna and Ronald Becker
Santiago Neville
Cynthia Sinclair
Kathleen Shinners
Lockett Ford Ballard
Mary Jennings

This event is made possible by your support of the Annual Fund.

Thank you to the Winter Speaker Series Committee

Johanna Becker, Chairwoman
Cristin Searles Bilodeau, Director of Community Engagement
Eleanor Doumato
Anne DuBose Joslin
Susan Kieronski
Santiago Neville
Kathleen Shinners