The Newport Biennial 2022

January 8, 2022 - May 29, 2022

The juried exhibition is one of the Newport Art Museum’s longest standing traditions. For over 30 years, it has included an array of works of art in all media. Now called “The Newport Biennial,” this exhibition features the work of New England artists and showcases the fresh approaches to art making in the region. After the events of 2020 and 2021, we hope that this is an opportunity for everyone to celebrate the resilience and creativity of today’s artists.

This year’s juror is: Dr. Kimberli Gant, the McKinnon Curator of Modern & Contemporary Art at the Chrysler Museum.

About Dr. Gant

Kimberli Gant, PhD is the McKinnon Curator of Modern & Contemporary Art at the Chrysler Museum. She has held curatorial positions at the Newark Museum, The Contemporary Austin, and the Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Art. She has curated numerous exhibitions including Brendan Fernandes: Bodily Forms, Multiple Modernisms, Wondrous Worlds: Art & Islam through Time & Place, and De-Luxe. Kimberli holds Art History degrees from the University of Texas Austin, Columbia University, and Pitzer College.

In addition to selecting featured artists for The Newport Biennial exhibition, the juror will also award the following cash prizes:

Best-in-Show: $1000
Second Place: $500
Third Place: $300

Shipping/Art Drop-Off

The submission window has now closed, and selected artists were notified on October 11, 2021 of their acceptance.

Works of art accepted for inclusion in the exhibition must be shipped to the Museum or dropped off during the set drop-off times.

Works shipped to the Museum must arrive at the Museum November 22 – December 5, 2021. The Newport Art Museum strongly recommends that artists obtain tracking numbers when shipping packages of works of art to the Museum.

Shipped works of art must be accompanied by a signed loan agreement and a prepaid packing label for return shipping (included in the package with the art).

If you prefer to drop off your works in-person, works of art can be dropped off at the Museum on the following dates and times: December 3 from 1-7 pm and December 4 from 2-4 pm.

The Newport Art Museum reserves the right to not include work that is deemed unstable or that is not professionally presented. The Museum will insure work while it is on display at the Museum. The Museum is not responsible for works of art during transit to/from the Museum. The Museum and Curatorial Team reserve the right to determine the placement and arrangement for works of art without consultation with the artist. Special requirements for display and art handling must be noted on the loan form (sent to artists accepted for exhibition).